top of page
  • 22146685

On Air: A Media Tour at PTV CAR & DZWT

I've been waiting to see what happens behind the scenes in the media world. I love working behind the scenes and being on camera seems scary. During our Media site visit, I got to experience being both on and off-cam.


My future co-internship colleagues and I were fortunate enough to catch the Live session of the Kumpletos Rekados program by DZWT on our first stop at the DZWT Radyo Totoo Broadcasting Station. Aling Rosa hosts the radio magazine Kumpletos Rekados, where she primarily discusses food, health, lifestyle, agriculture, and public service topics. Like a podcast, the show also invites special guests to be interviewed and participate in discussions. It is broadcast live on Facebook.



On our visit to the DZWT, the program invited me and my colleagues to be guest speakers. We were divided into many groups, each split in half. We were split into various groups, each divided in half. Four became the guest speakers while the other group members observed from the control room. Being camera-shy, I opted to watch. It was a rare opportunity for us to participate in and be included in this stuff, but I also had a gut feeling that I should have been one of the spokespersons.



When the host requested more guests to be interviewed, I suppose it was a lucky day for me. I sincerely thought that was the universe giving me another chance. So, of course, I jumped at the offer to speak as a guest right away. Although I started anxious, I managed to enjoy myself during the interview. Such a wholesome and enjoyable talk took place. The host questioned us about our professional goals and why we picked the BA in Communication degree. Aling Rosa was so kind to provide us with academic advice as well.



The People's Television Network (PTV CAR), a local television station and network operated by the Philippine government, was our last and final visit. Since PTV is a TV station, I was more interested in visiting it because I had heard positive things about it concerning our internship. During our visit, we were given a 15-minute presentation on the introduction to PTV CAR. Direk Ena of PTV, a former BA Communication student in SLU, discussed the working process we will do during our internship in PTV CAR. She also provided us with some tips and advice, and hopefully, I can also do my internship there.


After the presentation, one of the heads of PTV CAR gave us a tour of the TV station's live studio and the newsroom. We were able to see and take part in the production's scenes. The anchors told us to remain quiet, pay attention, and take notes during the entire time. Seeing the news anchors deliver their stories in real time was incredibly exciting. During their brief break, the news anchors spoke with us and gave us a breakdown of the script and the entire production process. We had numerous photo opportunities in and outside of the studio.



I'm incredibly thankful for this chance during the media site visit. Although briefly, we had the opportunity to experience both being on and off-camera. The media site tour was beneficial and an amazing experience.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page